Poetry

Solace

Can we fix this, as I can’t imagine losing you.
It’s been decades without you here
and I remember the world was too, beautiful.

I wish I could caress your cheeks, see behind the green.
I wish I’d see your fears, see what cannot be seen.
I wish I’d hear your whispering thoughts,
I wish I’d see you here.

I wonder, with too much weight on top my mind,
I try to find meaning, a place where the world is kind.
Understand why you shot me down with time,
why the wait is evil crime.

Why you find it fine, to sell my soul for dimes,
when I went and sold mine, to make you smile.
You know days are passing and I see the signs,
we’re changing fast, wow, it’s truly been a while.

Please, walk inside my words and dive behind a screen,
hear my drowning chest and quite all those screams,
The world is all too small, when you’re caged inside a cell,
hidden by a grin, that peeks when all is well.

Can’t you tell, time is but a passing breeze,
that will shatter all my dreams and dry all of my tears.
Don’t you fear, that once a moment passed, when you are not home, in my arms,
the world would just so much more dark?

Though I find solace, where my absence left you peace,
let the hole I dug, deep in your soul be filled with wisdom.
Let your smile broaden with each day you breathe,
grow, live, be, no matter why my grief.

Honestly, I’m tired of writing love to your ghost,
I’m just so tired and always lost.
I’ve drowned and my body can’t reach the coast.
I have no one but me, my years are gone.

I found life, it slipped through my fingers.
I’m stubborn like that, my days they linger.
I found purpose, I found reason,
I’ll draw you eternal, beyond my seasons.

Love,
is all I have to offer.

Standard

Leave a comment